Four Minnesota Vikings Selected to NFL Pro Bowl | KFAN

Getty Images

Eagan, Minn. (December 18, 2018)  Vikings linebacker Anthony Barr, defensive end Danielle Hunter, safety Harrison Smith and wide receiver Adam Thielen have been selected by players, fans and coaches to the 2019 NFL Pro Bowl.

Barr has been named to his fourth consecutive Pro Bowl a week after a career-high 2.0 sacks versus Miami. The team captain has helped the Vikings defense rank near the top of the league in several categories. The defensive unit ranks first in third down conversions, holding opponents to 28.6 percent, leads the NFL with 47 sacks, and has limited opponents to 202.9 passing yards per game, the fourth best mark in the NFL. According to coach’s stats, Barr has totaled 63 tackles, 3.0 sacks, six tackles for loss, and one forced fumble in 2018. 

Hunter, who is tied for second in the NFL in sacks with 14.5, has earned his first Pro Bowl nod in his fourth NFL season. In the Vikings Week 9 matchup against Detroit, Hunter recorded a career-high 3.5 sacks along with one defensive touchdown and helped the team to a franchise record 10.0 sacks in a single game. The Katy, Texas; native went on to earn NFC Defensive Player of the Week honors for that effort. The 24-year-old defensive end is first in total tackles (66), sacks (14.5) and TFLs (20) at his position in the NFC.

Smith, with three interceptions, two fumble recoveries, six tackles for loss and 3.0 sacks, is one of the most versatile safeties in the league. The four-time Pro Bowler became the first player to record three interceptions and 3.0 sacks in a single season since Landon Collins and Ryan Shazier in 2016. Smith is tied for the most interceptions on the team and is the second leading tackler with 71 total tackles (55 solo). The seventh-year veteran is attending his fourth consecutive Pro Bowl, trailing only Paul Krause (6) and Joey Browner (6 – one as a special teamer) for the most among Vikings safeties. 

Thielen, who has earned his second straight Pro Bowl honor, is second in the NFL with 105 receptions. His 1,255 receiving yards make him the first Viking to record back-to-back 1,000-yard receiving seasons since Randy Moss did so from 1998-2003. The Detroit Lakes, Minnesota; native became the second player in NFL history to record eight consecutive games of 100 or more receiving yards and the first to do so to start a season. An undrafted free agent out of Minnesota State University, Mankato, Thielen joins Gene Washington, John Gilliam, Sammy White, Ahmad Rashad, Anthony Carter, Cris Carter and Randy Moss as the only Vikings wide receivers to be named to multiple Pro Bowls. 

The 2019 Pro Bowl kicks off at 2:00 p.m. CT on Sunday, January 27 and will be televised live on ESPN, ESPN Deportes, Disney XD and simulcast on ABC – the second time the game will be available on both broadcast and cable networks and the first time that the game is being televised on Disney XD. 

For the third consecutive year, Pro Bowl Week festivities will take place at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Walt Disney World Resort and across the Orlando area, bringing free experiences and activities to fans as well as an extraordinary number of events focused on commemorating all levels of football – from youth to high school to the NFL's best. Some of the Pro Bowl Week events include: Pro Bowl Practices, Pro Bowl Skills Showdown, NFL FLAG Championships Powered by USA Football and Play Football Celebrity Flag Game



Anthony Barr, LB                                     2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Teddy Bridgewater, QB                           2015

Everson Griffen, DE                                 2015, 2016, 2017

Danielle Hunter, DE                                 2018

Linval Joseph, DT                                    2016, 2017

Cordarrelle Patterson, RS                        2016

Adrian Peterson, RB                                2015

Harrison Smith, S                                     2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Xavier Rhodes, CB                                  2016, 2017

Adam Thielen, WR                                   2017, 2018


Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content