The NHL Just Admitted To a BIG Mistake That Cost The Wild

With the Wild leading 1-0 in the first period, Jesper Boqvist scored to tie the game. However, Bruce Boudreau challenged the play as he thought Devils forward Wayne Simmonds touched the puck over his head as the Devils entered the zone before scoring the goal. Video review confirmed that to be the case and it appeared the goal would not count.

However, after a brief video review the NHL ruled it to be a good goal. Not only was it a tie game, but the Wild also had to kill a penalty. Later in the evening, the NHL Situation Room released a statement (emphasis added):

Minnesota issued a Coach's Challenge for a missed stoppage event prior to the New Jersey goal at 12:44 of the first period. Since New Jersey's Wayne Simmonds high sticked the puck in the neutral zone and then played the puck in the attacking zone, a missed game stoppage event occurred. Minnesota's challenge should have resulted in the New Jersey goal being disallowed.

Yikes. This is a huge mistake by the NHL. It is one thing for an on-ice official to get a call wrong, but it is entirely unacceptable to have the NHL Situation Room screw things up.

KFAN FM 100.3 · Minneapolis/St. Paul -- The Sports Leader

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel