Justin Jefferson is the only rookie named to the 2020 AP All-Pro Teams

Carolina Panthers v Minnesota Vikings

The case for Justin Jefferson being Offensive Rookie of the Year just got a little bit stronger. The Vikings’ star rookie receiver has been named to the 2020 AP All-Pro Second Team after a record setting season. 

Jefferson finished his season with 88 catches for 1,400 yards and seven touchdowns. He not only broke some of Randy Moss’ rookie records with the Vikings, but also outgained Anquan Boldin’s rookie record for receiving yards in a season in the Super Bowl era. 

The Vikings parted with Stefon Diggs to get the pick that ended up landing Jefferson in Minnesota. The trade has worked out well for both sides, as Diggs was named to the All-Pro First Team for his elite first year in Buffalo.

The race for OROY is down to Jefferson and Justin Herbert, who also broke some rookie records at his respected position. Herbert had a stellar season with the Chargers and looks to be a bright spot in the NFL for many years to come. However, Jefferson being the only rookie named All-Pro should play a factor in the outcome of the award, because he had a great season in terms of all receivers in the league.  

To take it one step further, Jefferson is one of two rookies to earn a PFF grade above 90 since 2015. The only other rookie to do so in the last five years was Alvin Kamara in 2017.

2020 didn’t end with the Vikings in the playoffs, but there are plenty of reasons for optimism heading into the 2021 offseason. Jefferson is only 21, meaning he has a chance to be a dominant force at the receiver position for many years to come. 

For more offseason updates on the Vikings make sure to tune into KFAN 100.3 and stay in the loop with updates on KFAN.com

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content