I don't think that I've ever seen something like this before...
I mean I totally have, but not on the PGA Tour and definitely not at The Masters. This is the kind of move that my sisters would make when I was teaching them how to golf, or one of your drunk buddies would pull on the putt putt course...but not a professional golfer on golf's biggest stage.
Just a short while ago, Zach Johnson put his ball on the tee ready to tee off. He took a step back, not a big enough one obviously, and took a practice swing...but he hit his ball. The ball ricocheted off the tee box marker and shot about 5-feet ahead of him. Dumbfounded he looked at his playing partner and caddies unsure of what to do.
According to the rules, he was not penalized as it was not intentional. Still, it was the most embarrassing moment of this year's Masters!